About Us


The University of Connecticut is a top-20 public University in the United States. Its flagship campus is located in the wooded, rural highlands of Mansfield, Connecticut, with regional campuses in Avery Point and Stamford on the state’s saltwater shore, and  Hartford and Waterbury in the state interior.  Its Department of Geosciences within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is the university’s home for Earth System Science, providing undergraduate and graduate education, career training, scientific research and service to the state, nation, and world.

The department has 14 full time faculty and three jointly appointed faculty engaged in a strong program of externally funded research in a broad range of disciplines with projects around the world. The graduate program has ~ 15 Ph.D. students and post-docs. the undergraduate program has  ~50 undergraduate majors, and serves students throughout the university.  Though the main focus is in Storrs, geoscience courses are also taught at three of the regional campuses.

UConn has maintained a strong geoscience program since its beginnings as a state agricultural school and the state’s Land-Grant and Sea-Grant University.  In July 2019 the university’s Center for Integrated Geosciences  was re-focussed and enlarged to create a new Department of Geoscience with Lisa Park Boush as its founding  head.  The current Department Head is Robert M. Thorson. Please feel free to contact him about any matter.

Image: Earth System Science involves all aspects of the planet and its billion-years-long history. Courtesy UConn Extension.